Helping journalists, producers and conference planners find the female guests, speakers and expert sources they need.

Graduate Showcase 2018

The women with informed opinions that we’ve trained, inspired or supported have published hundreds of commentaries in daily newspapers and prominent online sites, generating additional interview requests and exposure as a result. Here are just some of the analyses they’ve contributed as a result:

Island Voices: Cycling infrastructure an investment in Victoria’s future

Times Colonist by Meghan Winters 06 May 2018

Are Victoria’s streets fit for everyone? Not quite yet.

 

Vancouver researcher urges parents to let kids climb trees

News1130 with Mariana Brussoni 05 May 2018

Go ahead – let your child walk to school – on their own!

 

When we fail inmates, we fail ourselves

Penticton Western News with Alana Abramson 04 May 2018

Inmates aren’t typically the most sympathetic individuals for the general population, but by ensuring inmates are protected and provided for, we all stand to gain.

 

We want it all: Albertans expect low taxes, balanced budgets and no service cuts

CBC News with Melanee Thomas 04 May 2018

It definitely wasn’t popular when he said it.

 

Privacy experts: EU changes will help consumers indirectly, push Canada to follow

Regina Leader-Post with Teresa Scassa 03 May 2018

The European Union’s new privacy protection rules are being described as a game-changing new standard that’s already being felt in Canada as companies with transatlantic operations get ready for the sweeping changes that come into effect later this month.

 

The many benefits of meditation in the classroom

The Conversation by Thomas Culham and Neha Shivhare 03 May 2018

The fast pace of the business world — where competition is the rule and return on investment decides everything — can be challenging for business students.

 

Dating in the #MeToo era can mean more confusion over consent: experts

Global News with Anuradha Dugal 02 May 2018

It has been months since Aziz Ansari’s “bad date” incident, and experts say the narratives around dating in the #MeToo movement continue to change, but for some, it leads to more confusion.

 

Mutual fund fees are a case of dollars and per cents

The Globe and Mail by Lisa Kramer 01 May 2018

Would you rather pay a 1-per-cent fee or a $1,000 fee on $100,000 invested in a mutual fund? Before you congratulate yourself for noticing that 1 per cent and $1,000 amount to the same fee in this example, I ought to tell you that you may be making a related mistake in your own investment accounts that could be costing you buckets of money.

 

Albertans aren’t as conservative as you might think, poll suggests

CBC News with Melanee Thomas 30 April 2018

Albertans aren’t strictly conservative. At least not in the way we are stereotyped — or perhaps stereotype ourselves.

 

The argument for telling people how much money you make

CBC Radio Ottawa Morning with Romina Raeisi 30 April 2018

Ottawa University law student, Romina Raeisi makes the case for transparency amongst colleagues and friends about payscales.

 

Major European Banks Are Backing Away From The Oilsands. Will Others Follow?

The Huffington Post with Lisa Kramer 28 April 2018

The decision by Europe’s largest bank, HSBC, to halt funding for new projects in the oilsands has some wondering if other financial institutions, including U.S. banks and pension funds, will eventually follow suit — and what the impact that might have on Canada’s energy sector.

 

Kids need Vitamin N

The Mountain Times with Mariana Brussoni 26 April 2018

Climbing a tree is a path to self-discovery. Building a woodland fort is an exercise in creativity. Stepping across a babbling brook develops confidence and brings joy. Our most treasured childhood memories are often from outdoor adventures. While 71 percent of adults played outside as kids, only 21 percent of America’s children regularly play outdoors now. But a child’s time experiencing nature reaps an array of health benefits and provides a life long love, wonder, and awe for our natural world. Nature constantly calls to us in Vermont, where we’re certainly fortunate to be. Just opening the door and venturing outside gives us a dose of “Vitamin N”: Nature!

 

Manitoba police officer sues over sharing of intimate images without permission

The Ottawa Citizen with Karen Busby 26 April 2018

A Manitoba police officer has filed a lawsuit alleging intimate images of her were shared without her permission.

 

Newfoundland politician Eddie Joyce steps aside amid harassment allegations

The Globe and Mail with Melanee Thomas 26 April 2018

A Newfoundland and Labrador cabinet minister has stepped aside amid harassment allegations, in what political observers say is a fresh sign of the shift in how society discusses harassment.

 

Bill C-75 reforms too little, too late to respond to domestic violence

The Toronto Star by Elizabeth Sheehy and Isabel Grant 23 April 2018

A woman is killed by her current or former partner every six days in Canada. Indigenous women are killed by their intimate partners at a rate eight times higher. Domestic violence is a national crisis.

 

Rogers e-mail service terms allow access to users’ contacts, raising privacy concerns

The Globe and Mail with Teresa Scassa 21 April 2018

A new set of terms and conditions recently sent to Rogers e-mail users includes a Canada-specific provision that would allow the service provider to mine their friends’ and contacts’ personal information.

 

Are we losing community, as we lose trees?

North Shore News by Brenda Morrison 20 April 2018

Last year I lost my father, I lost the home that he built for our family and I lost the trees that I planted with him as a child. I loved those trees. Those trees gathered us, and protected us, as children and as a community. Trees matter – they build homes and communities. Homes without community is an empty existence. Last year we lost those trees to private development.

 

Building the talent pipeline for the future of Canada’s financial services industry

The Globe and Mail by Jennifer Reynolds 19 April 2018

Speak to any CEO in the financial sector and they will no doubt cite attracting top talent as one of their highest priorities. It is also increasingly one of the industry’s top challenges as the pace of technological change accelerates and transforms traditional business models. Today, the industry must not only attract talent for the roles it has open now, it also needs to anticipate the skills it will require in three to five years in this rapidly evolving landscape. Shifting customer preferences, increasing competition from non-traditional players, big data and emerging technologies are all changing the way financial products and services are delivered. Too often the discussion around talent today focuses on what skills and jobs will disappear, not on the skills we need in the future and how we are going to find and attract that talent.

 

You support pay equity? Tell me how much you make

The Ottawa Citizen by Romina Raeisi 19 April 2018

One topic we never discuss with each other is our salaries. A colleague can ask if you go to church, but not how much you make. That’s a problem because we can’t know how much we should fairly be paid if we never talk about it.

 

Why relationships matter in the gig economy

The Globe and Mail Report on Business by Nura Jabagi 18 April 2018

What do Tinder and the gig economy have in common? Both are killing long-term monogamous relationships and replacing them with casual hookups.

 

Vancouver mayoral candidate wants policy talk to trump gender vitriol

The Vancouver Sun with Ellen Woodsworth 18 April 2018

Shauna Sylvester says she spent long nights mulling over her Vancouver mayoral bid, knowing what she’d be facing.

 

The deportation of Lucy Francineth Granados: A symbol of Canada’s rising anti-immigrant sentiment

The Conversation by Yasmin Jiwani 17 April 2018

On April 13, Montreal resident Lucy Francineth Granados was deported to Guatemala. Despite mobilization by groups like Solidarity Across Borders and No One is Illegal, Granados was not allowed to stay in Canada.

 

How should the Humboldt fundraising money be spent?

The Toronto Star by Hilary Young 17 April 2018

In the days since the Humboldt Broncos tragedy, over $12 million has been raised for victims and families on one GoFundMe campaign alone, making it by far the largest Canadian GoFundMe campaign to date. It may seem too soon to think about how that money should be spent, but already there are expenses to pay.

 

The deportation of Lucy Granados shows how hollow government ‘compassion’ is

The Ottawa Citizen by Charlotte Cass 16 April 2018

On Friday morning, Canada deported Lucy Granados, a single mother who has lived in Montreal for nine years.

 

How Canada’s immigration detention system spurs violence against women

The Conversation by Petra Molnar and Stephanie Silverman 15 April 2018

“PLEASE GET ME OUT OF HERE I DON’T BELONG HERE!! HELP ME! HELP ME! PLEASE!!!!!! … I don’t see how they can continue to keep me locked up like a criminal. I have no charges. I had already paid my time for my crime.”

These are the last words of Teresa Gratton.

 

Cabinet to hold emergency meeting Tuesday in bid to save pipeline expansion

BNN with Melanee Thomas 09 April 2018

Faced with an escalating battle between British Columbia and Alberta as well as a spooked investment community, federal cabinet ministers will gather Tuesday for an emergency meeting in search of a way to convince Kinder Morgan to go forward with its Trans Mountain pipeline expansion.

 

American-style deportation is happening in Canada

The Conversation by Yasmin Jiwani 09 April 2018

One night last week, while flipping through the available channels, I came across a program called Border Security: Canada’s Front Line, a reality TV show that, though discontinued, is still being broadcast in different countries. It portrays the work of the Canadian Border Security Agents as they encounter refugees, immigrants and visitors to Canada.

 

Ford’s comments on black community prompt call for apology

iPolitics with Erin Tolley 06 April 2018

A call for an apology and widespread condemnation met Doug Ford’s comments about the black community on Friday.

 

Gun violence is more than just a gang problem

The Ottawa Citizen by Gladys A. Osien 05 April 2018

When a man gets shot in a neighbourhood, we talk about guns and gangs. When a partner shoots and kills his wife and children, we talk about domestic violence. When a person shoots multiple people in a private or public setting, we talk about mental health. When children are victims of shootings in a school, we talk about how different our gun laws are from the United States.

 

She was arrested for carrying a suitcase lined with cocaine into Canada. Her court case changed the law.

WUNC 91.5 North Carolina Public Radio with Carmela Murdocca 04 April 2018
On June 27, 2015, Cheyenne Sharma landed at Pearson International Airport, outside of Toronto, on a flight from Trinidad.

 

Ontario budget doubles down on left, politico says

The Waterloo Chronicle with Anna Esselment 03 April 2018

Ontarians will soon decide if their government’s fiscal approach is proper, but this year’s election budget is a clear attempt to double down on the left side of the political spectrum.

 

Changes to domestic violence law send ‘profound signal’

The Globe and Mail with Elizabeth Sheehy 01 April 2018
Lawyers and academics are lauding new federal legislation on domestic abuse that they say will strengthen the courts’ definition and treatment of intimate partner violence.

We must prioritize caring in health care

 

Policy Options by Vickie Cammack and Donna Thomson 30 March 2018
Ask any Canadian what “care” means and you will get rapid-fire answers that include words like kindness, love, concern, compassion and attentiveness. We know with inner certainty what it feels like to be cared for. But ask if these qualities come to mind when thinking about experiences in the health care system and you might get a blank stare or even a smirk.

 

Here’s why lawyers should advocate for greater diversity in their profession

The Ottawa Citizen by Paula Ethans 30 March 2018

What happens when a law society tells lawyers to promote diversity? A battle of beliefs.

 

Ontario has reshaped the national child care debate

The Globe and Mail by Susan Prentice 29 March 2018
An extraordinary new child-care policy was announced in Ontario this week: free full-day (or half-day) child care for children aged 2 1/2 years to kindergarten. Critics pounced on the new policy, criticizing it as last-minute electioneering. Supporters lament its late timing. Whether or not Premier Kathleen Wynne’s Liberals win another term and actually implement the policy, it generates at least five important outcomes, and changes the national social and political conversation.

 

Facebook has lost $100B in value — and its money problems may just be beginning

Global News with Lisa Kramer 27 March 2018

Facebook’s stock price has plummeted in the fallout from the recent data scandal, shaving over US$100 billion off the company’s market value.

 

Former Alberta inmate carried stillborn baby for weeks after seeking help from staff

Edmonton Journal with Martha Paynter 26 March 2018

Stephanie Albert knew something was wrong when the baby inside her stopped moving.

 

Sidewalk Labs pledges ‘open’ approach to data, but that’s no guarantee they’ll actually share it

Financial Post with Teresa Scassa 22 March 2018

Sidewalk Labs, owned by Google parent Alphabet Inc., says it will apply an “open standard” to data governance and partner with as many Canadian companies as possible as it transforms a swath of Toronto’s waterfront into a technology-driven district.

 

Jane Griffith Speaks to CEOx1Day on Roundhouse Radio 98.3 Vancouver

Roundhouse Radio 98.3 Vancouver with Jane Griffith 21 March 2018

Odgers Berndtson Partner and National Diversity Leader, Jane Griffith was recently interviewed by Business in Vancouver about how the firm achieved gender parity with this year’s CEOx1Day program – with women making up more than half of the participating CEOs. The program is designed to match top university students with CEOs across Canada for a day of mentorship and leadership lessons.

 

University of Victoria to launch first-of-its-kind Indigenous law program

The Globe and Mail with Rebecca Johnson 21 March 2018
Canada’s first joint program in Indigenous law and common law is preparing to launch next September at the University of Victoria, with an ambitious aim of developing a third legal order in Canada, while also producing lawyers for industry, government, First Nations and international work.

 

How to change the way we value, use and manage water

OpenCanada.org by Sarah Wolfe 21 March 2018

Pick up any newspaper and you’ll find alarming stories about a water crisis. Whether it’s Day Zero in Cape Town, swollen rivers menacing Southern Ontario or relentless droughts in the Prairies, the water crisis headlines flooding our media reinforce that old maxim, “if it bleeds it leads.”

 

It’s time to stop testing drugs on animals and start using better, more modern methods

The Globe and Mail by Lisa Kramer 20 March 2018
Nazi-inspired medical research methods are harming humanity, physically and financially.

 

Canada’s curiously cautious commemoration of women suffragists

The Conversation by Veronia Strong-Boag 19 March 2018

International Women’s Day has just passed, and, as always, there was little if no mention of Canada’s suffragists.

 

Comment vaincre le cyberharcèlement : une universitaire propose une méthode en cinq étapes

Franceinfo par Nadia Naffi 20 mars 2018

Jamais le cyberharcèlement n’a été si inventif et donc destructeur. Les cyberharceleurs utilisent le Web sciemment et à répétition pour terroriser ou causer du tort à autrui. Ils harcèlent des personnes qu’ils jugent faibles et sans défense, les dénigrent ou entachent leur réputation, un comportement typique des propagateurs de discours haineux. Toutefois, bien que le cyberharcèlement semble incontrôlable, il existe des techniques pour le combattre.

 

Here’s why moms-to-be should avoid drinking from plastic bottles

ANI with Deborah Kurrasch 18 March 2018

Pregnant women who drink from plastic bottles may be harming their children’s brain development, according to a recent study.

 

More resources, government support needed for Canada’s newcomers

Winnipeg Sun with Lori Wilkinson 17 March 2018
When Ali Saeed came to Canada 33 years ago, mental health supports for refugees were nearly non-existent.

Transgender women, breastfeeding and drug regimens

 

Impact Ethics by Martha Paynter 15 March 2018

The recent publication of a case report of induced lactation in a transgender woman, and reactions to it, are cause for critical examination of myths surrounding drug use in lactation and the impulse to restrict transgender bodies. “We need to make sure it is pure and hormone free,” a critic says of the human milk produced by the transgender woman patient, who used medications to induce lactation (domperidone) and to block testosterone production (spironolactone). Yet, human milk is not “pure” or “hormone free.”

 

Labor Snapshot: Engaging Women and Diverse Talent is Now Imperative for High Performance Computing Sectors

SC18 by Kelly Nolan 14 March 2018

When you examine the STEM disciplines that produce HPC experts, unconscious bias and the lack of engagement of women is playing a major role in limiting the growth of the talent pool for both industry and higher education institutes.

 

Study suggests ‘strong relationship’ between bullying and drug use, could help shape prevention strategies

CBC with Tracie Afifi 11 March 2018

A University of Manitoba study involving thousands of Manitoba students that looked at the connection between bullying and drug use is a starting point to develop better approaches to bullying prevention, researchers say.

 

Confusion and concern over land-use planning across northern Ontario

The Conversation by Dayna Nadine Scott 11 March 2018

Peawanuck is a Cree community in northern Ontario near the shores of Hudson Bay and the home community of the Weenusk First Nation. When I visited in February, caribou hides and animal furs hung in the yards, teepee smokehouses smouldered outside homes and snowmobiles pulled boxed sleighs to carry food harvested from the land.

 

The time is now for companies to emphasize sustainability

The Montreal Gazette by Leanne Keddie 05 March 2018

BlackRock, the world’s largest investment firm, recently issued a wakeup call to CEOs. The firm, whose investment decisions have a major impact on the economic health of major companies, advised them that their success depends on embracing sustainability and responding to climate change.

 

Waterloo region reacts to Trudeau government’s 3rd budget

CBC with Tammy Schirle 03 March 2018

Trudeau’s government tabled its third budget this week and political leaders in Waterloo region were paying attention to how much money would trickle down to local municipalities.

 

Curb the criticism and cue the applause – Trudeau’s budget was momentous for women

The Ottawa Citizen by Kelly Nolan 01 March 2018

On Tuesday, the #MeToo and #TimesUp movements, alongside women’s ongoing struggle for equity, won a victory. Never has Canada released a federal budget as progressive and in-step with a movement for change.

 

Federal Liberals’ call for national campus sex-assault policy comes with ‘unparalleled’ note of menace

The National Post with Kerri Froc 28 February 2018

As universities applauded the federal government for supporting higher education in Tuesday’s budget, it was easy to overlook the relatively modest $5.5 million set aside to “harmonize” campus sexual violence policies over five years.

 

Patrick Brown debacle means candidates will get more intense screening, parties say

CBC with Erin Tolley 24 February 2018

The major political parties in Ontario are united on precious little heading into the 2018 provincial election, except that in light of the political drama starring Patrick Brown, the scrutiny candidates go through needs to be ratcheted up.

 

Ottawa hoping to expand take up of working income tax benefit as program grows

Global News with Tammy Schirle 22 February 2018

A federal budget aimed at Canada’s middle class will also have a focus on the second part of the Liberals’ political target audience: those who wish to join it.

 

Comic books pack ‘KAPOW!’ to traditional academic journals

CBC with Bree Akesson 20 February 2018

A Wilfrid Laurier University professor has been using comics as a supplement to traditional academic journal articles and textbooks as a way to convey information to students through a different platform.

 

Don’t be a bystander: Five steps to fight cyberbullying

The Conversation by Nadia Naffi 20 February 2018

Never in the history of humanity has bullying been so inventive and thus destructive. Cyberbullies exploit this digital age to spread hate. They intentionally and repeatedly use the internet to cause harm, fear or distress to people. Their behaviour includes harassing individuals they consider weak and defenceless, denigrating them and harming their reputation, typical of hate speech spreaders. Although cyberbullying has become destructive and feels unstoppable, there are techniques for dealing with it.

 

An overdue conversation: #Metoo is bringing discussion about consent to the fore

The Ottawa Citizen with Elizabeth Sheehy 11 February 2018

On a recent weekday evening, a handful of young Ottawa 67s hockey players filed into a lounge inside TD Place for a mandatory session on consent and preventing sexual violence, among other things.

 

First glimpse of how genes may cause mental health problems

New Scientist with Jehannine Austin 08 February 2018

Schizophrenia, bipolar disorder and autism seem to have some similar effects on the brain. Analysing gene activity is taking us a step closer to understanding what causes such mental health conditions.

 

How Toxic is the World’s Most Popular Herbicide Roundup?

The Scientist with Deborah Kurrasch 07 February 2018

lyphosate, the active ingredient in the world’s most widely used herbicide, Roundup, is arguably also one of the most contentious. Mass protests erupted in Europe last November after the European Commission, following much discussion, granted a five-year extension for the license to use glyphosate in agriculture in the E.U.

 

University of Windsor: I came here for an argument

Maclean’s with Catherine Hundleby 02 Feburary 2018

At the University of Windsor, you can now get a Ph.D. in argumentation.

 

Beyond Policy: How Gendered Interactions on the Ground Shape Development

Stanford Social Innovation Review by Laura Doering and Sarah Kaplan 01 February 2018

National governments and international bodies often implement policies to promote more gender-equitable social and economic development. For example, initiatives like the UN’s Gender Equality Sustainable Development Goal highlight gender inequities across the globe and set benchmarks for progress towards equality. Similarly, USAID highlights gender equality and women’s empowerment as one of its main areas of focus, aiming to “unlock human potential on a transformational scale” by investing in women’s skills and advancement. These ambitious, large-scale policies and goals function as powerful tools for orienting global attention, and channeling funds toward initiatives that promote gender equality.

 

The other solitary: Psychiatric segregation needs to end, too

The Globe and Mail by Sheila Wildeman 31 January 2018
Recently the B.C. Supreme Court declared “administrative segregation” in prisons unconstitutional. It ruled that this form of solitary confinement causes severe psychosocial harm and is contrary to the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. It barred, as discriminatory, application of the regime to Indigenous prisoners and ruled that “any period of administration segregation” of prisoners with mental-health problems is illegal. Any remaining use of segregation must be hedged by strict time limits, access to counsel and independent review.

 

Liberals’ summer jobs program controversy on reproductive rights overblown

Canadian Lawyer by Karen Busby 29 January 2018

Religious organizations and editorial writers have sown confusion about new eligibility criteria for organizations that want to hire students under the Canada Summer Jobs program. They would have readers believe that the federal government is violating individual and organizational Charter-protected rights to freedom of religion and freedom of expression.

 

Investigating domestic violence, with an eye on prevention

The Globe and Mail with Elizabeth Sheehy 25 January 2018
As Holly Hamilton’s family prepares for her funeral, the slain Ontario woman’s brother has spoken out about the ultimate cost of domestic violence.

 

How To Shut Down Microaggressions While Keeping Your Cool

The Huffington Post by Sarah Neville 24 January 2018

In the world of vintage furniture, the “casting couch” is a piece that, until recently, seemed timeless. It was hard to imagine that this item, a feature in the offices, rehearsal halls and studios of many a showbiz boss, could ever go out of style.

 

Why all children must learn their times tables — and fun ways to teach them

The Conversation by Lynda Colgan 24 January 2018

Recently, I was asked by a parent how old children should be to learn how to multiply numbers. He was shocked when I said that children in kindergarten may be experts in multiplication.

 

Abortion pill still largely out of reach for most women in Nova Scotia

CTV News with Martha Paynter 23 January 2018

The abortion pill remains out of reach of most Nova Scotia women, because doctors still cannot bill the province for providing it.

 

Best Buy Canada grants secondary schools with new technology

Markets Insider with Amy Coupal 22 January 2018

Best Buy Canada is proud to announce that 9 secondary schools across the country have been selected to receive funding of up to $10,000 each through the Best Buy School Tech Grant program.

 

Forget the #MeToo backlash. Stay focused on changing how sex and power work

Mashable with Charlene Senn 20 January 2018

After months of condemning pervasive sexual harassment and assault, we’ve arrived at the #MeToo backlash.

 

Beyond the Women’s March – We need to fight as hard for our careers as sexual predators do

The Ottawa Citizen by Kelly Nolan 19 January 2018

Disgraced “knees together” former judge Robin Camp and broadcaster Jian Ghomeshi battled harder for their careers than we have collectively fought for equal pay for equal work in Canada. They hired lawyers and pleaded their cases passionately.

 

Nova Scotia hires two Crown attorneys to focus on sexual-assault cases

The Globe and Mail with Elizabeth Sheehy 18 January 2018
Two new Crown attorneys dedicated solely to the prosecution of sexual-violence cases have been hired in Nova Scotia.

 

Has The #MeToo Movement Forgotten About Our Women In Uniform?

The Huffington Post by Kelly Nolan 18 January 2018

As the #MeToo campaign stole headlines globally in late 2017, a few others were ignored. In fact, we have been ignoring them for years. Here is but a sampling:

 

Churches upset by new abortion clause in jobs program

CBC with Catherine Macnab 17 January 2018

Church leaders are calling on the faithful to pray — and call their MPs — about new rules for the federal government’s Canada Summer Jobs program.

 

The cruel trade-off at your local produce aisle

The Conversation by Donald MacLean Wells and Janet McLaughlin 16 January 2018

When we decide what fresh produce to buy, we check our fruits and vegetables for colour and blemishes, and we make sure the price seems fair.

 

Women have ‘long way to go’ in our cities’ public life, politics

Metro News with Ellen Woodworth 16 January 2018
An initiative to engage and empower Surrey and Vancouver women’s public voices got a $282,000 cash boost Tuesday.

 

Reported hijab attack on 11-year-old girl ‘did not happen,’ Toronto police say

CBC with Sabreena Ghaffar-Siddiqui 15 January 2018

An 11-year-old girl’s report last week that a man tried to cut off her hijab as she walked to school didn’t occur, Toronto police said Monday.

 

Smartphones open up world of sex and porn for women, study finds

CBC with Diana Parry 15 January 2018

One thread on a Canadian online forum made up mostly of women asks for advice on sex toys.

 

Tougher workplace harassment rules would help protect political staffers: Hajdu

National Post with Jane Hilderman 12 January 2018

It is too early to begin claiming the pendulum is in danger of swinging too far the other way when it comes to concerns over sexual misconduct on Parliament Hill, as young political staffers remain especially vulnerable to abuse, says Labour Minister Patty Hajdu.

 

Robo-Advisors Key to Snagging Millennials for Wealth Managers
ThinkAdvisor with Lisa Kramer 10 January 2018

Opportunities for wealth management are growing among consumers with lower and moderate incomes – as well as millennials – by increasing use of robo-advisor technology, according to a recent study.

 

Why Ontario employers can pay veteran workers the same wage as new hires

CBC with Muneeza Sheikh 10 January 2018

Karen Seenath said it felt like her dignity was on the line when she opted to quit her job at a Brampton Tim Hortons —- a position she’d held for the past seven and a half years.

 

Kids commuting to school: what’s driving the conversation?

CBC with Mariana Brussoni 07 January 2018

Live in any big city, and there are certain changes that constantly evoke anxiety and lament.

 

Our justice system is still burdened by rape mythologies

The Globe and Mail by Elaine Craig 05 January 2018

The year just ended brought an unprecedented reckoning of sexual misconduct. Allegations of sexual assault and sexual harassment made by four actors against Soulpepper Theatre Company’s artistic director, Albert Schultz, can now be added to the wave of revelations.